Dog (sitting) Days

Does anyone know the meaning behind the term “dog days”? The phrase has become a lot more commonplace since the release of Florence and the Machine’s song “Dog Days Are Over” but obviously, this isn’t the first time someone’s used the phrase. When the title of this post popped into my mind, I had to find out. I have a bit of an obsession with knowing the origin of colloquial phrases.

Dog days are associated with the hot weather while the star Sirius is showing. Sirius is referred to as the “Dog Star” because it’s the brightest star in the constellation Canis Major. The dog days are generally considered to be July 24 through August 24, so we’re not quite there yet.

My parents were out of town this past weekend for a vacation. They normally bring their dogs with them on road trips, but this time they weren’t able to. When my mom asked if I would be available to help, my answer was a resounding yes! I love those two pups so much.

P1000103

P1000094

My parents adopted Gracie around 10 years ago, when I was a sophomore in high school. My mom and I had wanted a dog for so long, but could never find the right one. There was a long list of requirements for the dog we adopted; under 30 lbs, short haired, female. When my mom found Gracie in the shelter, she instantly fell in love, even though Gracie was way bigger than we had originally wanted. Gracie was found wandering the streets of Hollister. She had a previous owner and was even microchipped, but the contact info on the microchip was out of date. We lucked out with Gracie, for sure.

Miles was originally my dog. I adopted him in college, but when I moved back to the Bay Area, I realized that he would be a lot better off living with my parents. My work and commute schedule keep me out of the house about 11 hours everyday, so Miles’ life is much better with my parents.

Ever since I moved out of my parents’ house after college, I’ve really missed seeing the dogs every day. It was great spending time with both of them this weekend. I took advantage of the time with them and took them out back for a photo shoot. It’s really difficult to take cute pictures of dogs, but I got a few winners.

I also took advantage of my close proximity to the Willow Glen Farmer’s Market, and picked up some fresh berries, carrots and arugula. I was so tempted to buy all the fresh produce, but I’m only one person and I can only eat so much.

Fresh produce, long days, long walks and sunshine are my favorite parts of summer. Now that it’s here in full swing, I’m taking full advantage. What are you all doing to get your summer started?

Leave a Reply

