Lately Listens

Do you guys ever feel like you listen to the same music over and over again? I know I’ll go through phases where I really only listen to 3 albums or so over the course of the month. Here are some of the artists I’ve had on heavy rotation lately:

Modest Mouse – Strangers to Ourselves

Strangers_to_Ourselves_cover

Ok, Modest Mouse is my favorite band. I’ve loved them since I was 14 years old and I think it’s safe to say I’ve heard all their songs at least once. It had been almost 8 years since they put out an album, so I was itching to hear this one. I was not at all disappointed by this album, and apparently they’re already in the studio recording their next album with Krist Novoselic from Nirvana. I can’t wait!

Favorite/least favorite – Sugar Boats/Pistol

Sia – 1000 Forms of Fear

sia-1000-forms-of-fear-album-cover-1402954560

I was surprised by how much I like this album as a whole. All the songs are all incredibly intimate. The first time I listened to the album I cried. Chandelier and Elastic Heart have become pretty popular singles, but there’s so much more to this album. I think Sia’s pretty visionary, the way she presents herself, the openness with her audience, it’s really hard to come by in a pop act.

Favorite/least favorite – Burn the Pages/Cellophane

Death Cab for Cutie – Transatlanticism

Transatlanticism

Ok, this album is over 10 years old at this point, but it’s still one of my favorites. This album will always be one of my favorite albums, there’s so much nostalgia associated with it. Death Cab came out with a new album this year. I haven’t had a chance to check it out yet, but I think I’ll give it a go soon.

Favorite/least favorite – Expo ’86/Sorry, N/A

What have you guys been listening to lately? Any recommendations for me?

Leave a Reply

