Ojai Vacation Highlights

Two weekends ago I went on a family trip to Ojai to celebrate my stepdad’s birthday. You got to see a sneak peak of the beautiful view in my last post, but I thought I’d share a little bit more about my time there.

We rented a giant house in Ojai Valley with 5 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. My mom, stepdad, stepbrother, stepsister, brother-in-law, nephew, aunt, uncle and all stayed in the house with 4 dogs.

Ojai House

My stepbrother and I drove down from the Bay Area together on Thursday night and arrived around midnight. The following day, the boys went out to do some kart racing while the ladies and Archer (my nephew) stayed around to prep for the party that night. My stepsister, Emilie, and I were in charge of inflating balloons. Archer helped a bit by choosing the balloon and ribbon colors. He really enjoyed them, as you can see.

Archer Balloons

We did our big birthday celebration of Friday evening. We were joined by my stepdad’s stepsister and brother-in-law (is my family confusing you yet?) I was in charge of making salad, which was a huge crowd-pleaser. I swapped out pomegranate seeds for dried cranberries and added avocado. Seriously, you’ve got to serve this salad next time you have a party. I would have eaten only that all night if need be.

My stepdad requested that everyone bring a slideshow of about 40 photos to share with everyone. It was really cool to see my family’s photos, hear their stories and see what memories they all cherished most. Our gift to my stepdad was a painting of his choice by Ventura artist Hilda Kilpatrick-Freyer. We went to Ventura for lunch on Saturday and got the chance to check out her amazing apartment/studio. Can you believe this view?

Ventura View

We all departed on Sunday. It was really only a 3 day weekend, but it was packed with so much, it went by too quickly. I was so exhausted afterwards and so ready to sleep in my own bed. Here are a few more memories from the weekend:

Ojai View 2
More views from our rental
Bathtime
Bathtime!
Obligatory foot photo
Obligatory foot photo
Leave a Reply

