New Year’s Resolution – 52 Books a Year

I’ve never really liked the idea of New Year’s resolutions. January 1st seems like such an arbitrary time to decide to make changes in your life. In past years I’ve been way too ambitious with my New Year’s goals. Last year I resolved to go to the gym 3 times a week, and I was good about it for the first 3 months or so. But life happens, and I quickly fell off after a few months.

My resolution this year was no less ambitious. I decided I would try to read a book a week, or 52 books this year. So far, I’ve read:

January Books

Ham On Rye by Bukowski

Looking for Alaska by John Green

Lost at Sea by Bryan Lee O’Malley

American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang

I’m using Goodreads to keep up with my progress. Right now, I’m two books behind, but I’m in the middle of the longest book I’ve read so far this year, The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer. Life keeps getting in my way, but it’s my honest to goodness goal to finish this book by the end of the week.

The next book I’m going to start on is Yes, Please by Amy Poehler. I’m so excited to read this one! I find Amy so inspiring and a friend of mine read the book and said it was like getting advice from your cool young aunt. This will be my first non-fiction book of the year, I’m excited to mix it up a bit.

Leave a Reply

